European Fly Fishing Association


In 2012, EFFA launched its open European fly tying championship. It became well known within a short time and also fly tyers on the other side of the Atlantic have entered the winner lists in the past. Every fly tyer from beginner to professional is eligible to participate. The only condition: The flies must meet the criteria of the announcement and be sent in duplicate.

Announcement and registration

EFFA Open 2024

Information concerning the international fly tying championship can be found in the following PDF's.


EFFA Open 2023

The jury of the EFFA OPEN International Fly Tying Competition 2023 consisting of Peter Kunz, Martin Weidisch and Daniele Di Fronzo carefully checked all flies and selected 3 winners each in the categories dry fly, nymph and streamer.

Our Partners